Projects

BiodiversityProject Comifac

Beyond Timber

Reconciling the Needs of the Logging Industry with those of Forest-Dependent People.

This project aims to produce information, tools and guidelines that will be adopted by concessionaires and government agencies to reduce conflicts between timber extraction and NTFP production, and thus between concessionaires and communities.

Beyond Timber Brochure

 

Project Spop

Sustainable Palm Oil Production (SPOP)

Sustainable Development of Palm Oil Production: Designing strategies from improved knowledge on oil palm cropping systems.

The objectives of the project are: i) to investigate the influence of global changes on the various oil palm cropping systems, ii) to identify the obstacles, opportunities, and uncertainties for the adaptation of these systems to global constraints, and iii) to elaborate strategies and tools designed to facilitate the transition towards sustainable oil palm cropping systems.

Expected outputs will include new knowledge and data on the 3D impacts of global constraints on oil palm plantations, innovative tools to assess these impacts and support decision making processes and recommendations for the transition of cropping systems towards sustainability.

SPOP

 

The SAFSE Project

Search for trade-offs between production and other ecosystem services provided by tropical agroforestry systems

The project proposes to analyse trade-offs and synergies between provisioning services (production) and the other types of ecosystem services (support, regulation) provided by Agroforestry Systems (AFS). By enhancing knowledge of the biophysical and socio-economic mechanisms underlying the functioning and dynamics of AFS, the project intends to provide a generic basis for optimizing trade-offs between production and other ecosystem services in order to help increase the resilience of these agro-ecosystems and the societies that depend on them.

SAFSE

 

Project fta

SL-OP

Issue bounded Sentinel Landscape. “Oil palm: Landscapes, market chains and investment flows”.

The issue bounded Sentinel Landscape on Oil Palm (SL-OP) is one of the Tier-1 sentinel landscapes (SL) selected under this initiative under the CGIAR Research Program on Forests, Trees and Agroforestry. The SL-OP has been conceived as a way to understand, on one hand, the financial and trade patterns associated to a vigorous expansion of global value chains of palm oil that links domestic, regional and international timber trade and actors, and on the other hand, to assess the implications of palm oil market development for the expansion of oil palm plantations under different business models across a number of landscapes in select countries.

SLOP presentation

Comments are closed

Projets

BiodiversityProjet Comifac

Au-delà du bois

Réconcilier les besoins de l’industrie forestière avec ceux des populations dépendant de la forêt

Ce projet vise à produire des informations, outils et directives qui seront adoptées par les concessionnaires et les organismes gouvernementaux afin de réduire les conflits entre l’exploitation du bois et la production des PFNL, et donc entre les concessionnaires et les communautés.

Brochure Beyond Timber

 

Projet Spop

Sustainable Palm Oil Production (SPOP)

Développement durable de la production d’huile de palme: stratégies basées sur une meilleure connaissance des systèmes de culture du palmier à huile.

Les objectifs du projet sont: i) d’analyser l’influence des changements globaux sur les divers systèmes de culture du palmier à huile, ii) d’identifier les obstacles et opportunités, ainsi que les incertitudes liées aux possibles transitions vers des systèmes durables, et iii) d’élaborer des stratégies et des instruments pour faciliter ces transitions.

Parmi les résultats escomptés, le projet devrait fournir de nouvelles connaissances et données sur les impacts 3D des systèmes de culture du palmier à huile, des outils innovants pour évaluer ces impacts et des recommandations pour les producteurs pour adapter leurs systèmes de culture et tendre vers des systèmes durables.

SPOP

 

Le projet « SAFSE »

Recherche de compromis entre productions et services écosystémiques fournis par les systèmes agroforestiers tropicaux

Le projet « SAFSE » propose d’analyser les compromis et les synergies entre les services d’approvisionnement (productions) et les autres types de services écosystémiques (support, régulation) procurés par les Systèmes Agroforestiers (SAF). En augmentant ainsi la connaissance des mécanismes biophysiques et socio-économiques sous-jacents au fonctionnement et à la dynamique des SAF, le projet vise à fournir une base générique d’optimisation des compromis entre productions et services écosystémiques pour contribuer à une résilience accrue de ces agro-écosystèmes et des sociétés qui en dépendent.

SAFSE

 

Projet fta

SL-OP

Observatoire thématique. « Palmier à huile: paysages, filières et flux financiers »

L’observatoire thématique SL-OP est l’un des observatoires (Sentinel Landscape) retenus par le programme de recherche du CGIAR « Forests, Trees and Agroforestry ». Le projet SL-OP a été conçu dans le but de comprendre, d’une part les flux financiers associés à la forte expansion de la filière huile de palme qui impliquent les acteurs du marché domestique, régional et international du bois, et d’autre part d’évaluer l’impact du développement du marché de l’huile de palme sur l’expansion de différents types de plantations de palmier à huile, dans divers paysages et pays.

Présentation SLOP

Les commentaires sont clos.